lacrosse.

If anyone has had a conversation with me over the last two months, they would think that I hate coaching lacrosse and it’s the worst decision I’ve made in my life this year. Truth is, I hate it, but I love it. I hate it because I work in Fitchburg and have to travel the Beltline in rush hour traffic to get back to the Eastside for their practice. I hate it because it does throw a curve ball in my schedule. I hate it because of the conference we’re in, and the fact that it’s so competitive and lacrosse in Madison is slowly getting bigger but they’re aren’t enough resources. I love it because I get to be outside. I love it because I can play and dink around with them while teaching them a sport that I love and hope they will too. I love it because it gives a whole new perspective on life.

These girls are still in high school. Yes I understand that there are seniors who are slowly realizing the real world is in front of them and they’re about to have it hit them in a few short months, but they see things in a whole different way. They aren’t plagued by the choice of alcohol and drugs (well, my kids aren’t, but Iย knowย there are high schoolers out there who are.) They’re just living life, not a care, and their biggest problem was who was gonna be in their prom group and if they could find a dress or not.

Coaching was a good opportunity for me and it opened my eyes to a few things, and being the one in control and having the ability to change everything with a few short words. We’ll see what next year brings.

Leave a Reply

