Being Crafty: DIY Coffee Cups

I’ve seen this idea floating around on Pinterest for a while and thought I’d give it a shot. It’s fairly simple, which is what i like. I took a trip to the Goodwills here around Madison and picked up some coffee mugs for about 50 cents – which is awesome! I even found a few of the same kind to make a pair! For a few of the mugs I went online and printed out pictures of the things (lips, mustache, crown) I wanted to put on the mugs. I’m an awful free hand drawer so I thought this would help, which it did! I taped them down with a little bit of masking tape and then I traced around them with sharpie. I messed up quite a few times, especially on the ones involving words and not having a template. I just took a little bit of rubbing alcohol and some paper towel and wiped the sharpie off. I rinsed it off and let it dry and started over again. When I got everything the way I wanted, I just stuck them in the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. When they were done, I turned off the oven and just continued to let them cook until the oven was no longer hot and then pulled them out. I think they’re pretty sweet! They make adorable personalized gifts at a cheap price!

cups2 cups3

My creations!

 

Leave a Reply

